The Testimony of Faith (Shahada)

Before I converted (or reverted) to Islam, there were many things that I didn’t know about the religion. Islam is very much a way of life. Undoubtedly, there were many things that I needed to change; my habits, my daily routines, my meals. The list goes on. But every step I take towards this change makes me feel like a better person not only in my heart but my body, soul and mind.

I had a discussion with my mother a week before my ceremony. She said that I should take my time to learn about the religion, and decide only after a couple of years if it is right for me.

My take is completely different, though. I know I believe in God. I believe in Allah. There is only one God and He is Allah. I believe in all the messengers and prophets. I have so much love for Jesus and the prophets before him. Why is it so difficult to believe that there is a prophet after him, too?

I must admit, my love for Prophet Muhammad, peace be upon him, is not as strong as my love for Jesus right now. I am only beginning to learn about him. The more I learn, the more I see so much love he had for his companions and followers. Just like Jesus and his followers. Just like Moses. Just like Abraham. Just like Noah. Just like Adam.

The Shahada is very important, not only because it is one of the five pillars of Islam. The words are phrased together so specifically. But the feelings attached to those words vary from person to person. How you feel about Allah and the Prophet is the epitome of the words on your lips. How you feel about it today can be very different from how you feel about it tomorrow, or even, ten years to come.

“Ash hadu an la ilaha ill Allah wa ash hadu anna Muhammadar Rasul Allah.”

I testify that there is no God but Allah and that Muhammad is his Messenger. 

I verily proclaimed my faith with those simple words. I believe in it. The depth of my words, though, especially with attribute towards our Prophet, was superficial in the beginning. How can I love someone I don’t know?

But the reason why I was so sure of my faith and my declaration is because I know the love that Allah has for me. He has guided me back to Him and has always guided me towards Him. Anything He has given me is a great gift of love and that I will love. And he has given me, he has given us guidance through Prophet Muhammad, peace be upon him. How can I not love the one that brings me closer to my Lord?

Insha Allah, as the days pass and my knowledge expands, my love for the beloved prophet will grow, and my testimony of faith will reign in my heart with utmost sincerity and an overwhelming passion.

 

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

